I’m going to Cambodia…

Friends and Family,

It’s hard to believe that it’s mid-March already. I feel like the year has just begun and now we’re almost to Easter. Of course spending most of our waking hours chasing two energetic one-year olds around the house does make the day go by a lot faster. Marcus and Micah are keep us quite busy and have entered their “explorer” phase…aka anything that can be climbed on, pulled open, put in their mouth, or thrown down usually is. But they are sweet little boys that have fun personalities and always bring much joy to our lives.

Although I’m definitely overdue for an update, I’m actually writing because I have an exciting oppcambodia maportunity coming up, and I’d love to involve you. In the middle of May, I’ll be embarking on a week-long medical missions trip in Cambodia with a doctor from my church and several others from another state. We will fly to Phnom Penh, the capital of Cambodia, and after staying for a day there, will then head out into the Cambodian countryside to conduct medical clinics with local missionaries and medical workers. No, I am not a doctor, but as I’ve done on previous trips I will be helping with check-in, taking vital signs, helping distribute medicines, etc…as well as spending time sitting and talking about Jesus with anyone that is interested.

This is such an exciting time for me. Although I’ve been on many mission trips and have even done medical ones, heading to Asia will be a completely new experience. So why do I feel it important to do these medical trips? Well, I really believe that by doing something tangible, such as setting up clinics, we will be able to connect with people in a way that simply talking with them cannot. Medicine offers an incredible way to reach a people who are often shy or even suspicious of Protestant Christians. Plus, we’re offering a service that everyone needs and providing access to healthcare in areas where it is not readily available. The clinics also help the missionaries on the ground develop and maintain relationships with the locals in each area, which is vitally important to the spread of the Gospel.

There are several ways I could use your help—most involve prayer, but I could also use financial support. Specifically, you could:

  1. Pray for the people in Cambodia. Pray that they will begin to see and feel God’s love for them. Pray that their hearts will be soft, and our compassionate mission will lead them to the true God.
  2. Pray that the team on the ground in Cambodia continues to thrive in their work. Pray that God ministers mightily through them.
  3. Pray that I would be prepared mentally and spiritually for the journey and the work and for Kristen as she cares for Marcus and Micah while I’m gone.
  4. And this is the big one, pray for finances and support me financially. I need your support to get to Cambodia. If you are interested in supporting me, please mail a check to:

Mission to the World Donations

P.O. Box 2589

Suwanee, GA  30024-0982

My support account number is 12466, so please write this number and my name on the memo line of the check.

OR you can donate online by going to https://donations.mtw.org/donors/login.php

That will bring up a login screen.  You will be asked to create an account.

On the next screen that comes up you can choose the support account number (alphabetical by last name (Fielder) and my account number is 12466)

That will drop down more choices and you can enter the dollar amount. After you enter the amount, click next.  From there, you will provide your contact info, address, etc.

While money is important, I covet your prayer support as I prepare to go! Please let me know that I can count on you in the months ahead. Stick this letter in your Bible, and remember me each time you read!

Thank you for your prayers and support,

Sam

 

 

Leave a Reply

