Wiibledon – The Best Idea That Never Was

WiiBledon

It was, and remains, one of the best ideas my buddy and I have ever had.  We love Wii Tennis (documented here) and decided that we’d set up a Wii Tennis tournament to coincide with Wimbledon.  Seedings and draws would be made, players would need to wear all white to play, we’d even have Centre Court and Court 1.  Heck, I even went to Goodwill a couple of times to see if I could find a lamp with a pineapple on top that I could then re-purpose as a trophy. It was going to be glorious and wonderful and hilarious.  And look at that logo, which was expertly crafted specifically for us by my wife.  How awesome is that thing?

But it just never worked out.  One year I was on my honeymoon.  The next year half the field was out of town.  The 4th of July happens in the middle of the tourney.  Then my buddy moved, people stopped getting together to play Wii Tennis like we used to and now instead of an epic tourney, I think we have to admit that it just isn’t going to happen, at least anytime soon for us.  

I still think it is a fantastic idea and I’d still love to pull it off someday.  But really, I just think that logo needs to see the light of day.

One thought on “Wiibledon – The Best Idea That Never Was

  1. James says:

    Much love buddy! Fantastic post as always and great logo design by Kristen! Miss you both!

Leave a Reply

