The Weekend That Was

Before we get to things less important, I’d like to say a special thank you to all veterans that have served their country, and especially those whose families have lost ones that they love in the defense of their country.  Thanks to all and I’d be remiss in not mentioning it this Memorial Day.

Now onto the other things…It’s the end of a long weekend and I am tired, sore, slightly sunburned, tired, and totally full.  And I’ve got to say, I think that a re-examination of your life might be in order if you cannot say the same thing.  In case you want to follow my blueprint from this weekend, here it is…

Saturday – A day at the lake.  Kristen and I headed up to some of her oldest friends lakehouse area for a day on the lake and a murder mystery party.  There was a ton of food, a couple of boats, a good dock and a large amount of friendly people.  Pretty much the recipe for a perfect lake day.  We bumbled through the murder mystery (The end was a little anti-climactic) but had a great time hanging out and tubing, water skiing, and boat surfing.  I am proud to say that I still have water skiing skills, even though it has been about 8 years since I last tried.  We stayed out there all day and basically just enjoyed the sunshine and wonderful water.

Sunday – This Sunday involved some sleeping in, our favorite breakfast spot, the French Open, the pool, some good books, and a movie.  Not at all a bad way to spend a super hot Sunday.  Especially one where you are pretty sore from all of your rigorous lake activity the day before.

Monday – Besides not going to work (which made it a great day in and of itself…), we slept in again, watched some more French Open, fixed our dryer, messed around with our A/C ducts (not quite as successful as the dryer but I am gaining on it) cooked out brats for lunch and burgers for dinner, and then spent another long and lazy afternoon at the pool with some good books.  All in all, a pretty great day if you ask me.

So yeah, it was a pretty great weekend overall.  I even got some new music which any of you regular readers will know that I am a huge fan of.  Girl Talk (a nerdy DJ guy) has a free album out there on the internet and it is pretty doggone good.  It’s not really for the faint of the heart if you get my drift, but we wore it out all weekend.  So if you are into remixes and rap I’d check it out.  Otherwise check out Rococode, a great new indie band out of Canada.

So there it is.  Hope your weekend was as epic as mine and that you are primed for a great week.

Love and Sweatpants.

Leave a Reply

