Wrong Number

Every morning when my alarm goes off on my phone I roll over and turn it off and then check to see if I have any messages.  I’m not sure why I do this since there is roughly a 3% chance that I got a call or a text in the night, but I check nonetheless.  This morning I checked and noticed that I had a message and a missed call from what my phone diplomatically called “Withheld”.  Since no one I know would call and leave me a message but not their number and name, I went about my morning getting ready for work and forgot about it.

But, as I was stuck in traffic on my way to work, I thought about it again and got my phone out and listened to the message.  Apparently I was drunk dialed by someone last night who somehow kept their name and number from showing up on my phone, and was also inebriated enough to miss the fact that my greeting was not who they were trying to call.  The message starts mid-rant and uses a lot of choice language but the gist of it implies that someone is a crackhead (this word was thrown around about 20 times in 2 minutes…), is missing out on the best white woman they’ve ever met, took their nieces to buy drugs, has a crippled cousin that deals drugs out of a basement, and knows someone named Linda that will take the callers’ side over and against the intended message recipient…

I wasn’t sure whether to laugh at all of it or to call Family Services…even though I had no identifying information whatsoever.  So I guess at this point I can only hope for a few outcomes: 1. Upon a sober awakening this morning the caller realized their mistake and realized that maybe it is not such a good idea to try and dial people to cuss out and call a crackhead from memory.  Lesson learned and no more late night phone calls for me. 2. Upon awakening this morning above caller runs into or calls the “crackhead” and references last night’s call, only to have incredible amounts of awkwardness abound.  That’d be great.  And hopefully result in no more calls for me.  Or 3. They wake up this morning mad as ever but get the number right next time and again, no more calls for me.  Either way, I’m rooting for no more calls to me except those intended for me.  And even though it was a little offputting to start my morning that way, I have to say that it was entertaining.

But no matter what, it just reinforces my life rule to never ever answer a phone call from a number I do not know unless I am sure someone is supposed to be calling me.  I can’t tell you how many times this has save me from incredible awkwardness…well, at least 3 times that I can remember.

Leave a Reply

