The Week That Was

It is so hot.  So here’s some stuff to read while you sweat.

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – Nothing too exciting to report here.  Mainly just old staples like Phoenix, Kings of Leon, Foo Fighters, Copeland, and Joe Purdy.

Customer Service Moment of the Week – There was a guy in J.Crew about a week ago that brought in a pair of jeans that “His friend had given him” but that he did not have any receipts or tags for.  And even though these particular style of jeans had been on sale for at least 3 months, he swears his friend paid full price for them.  Therefore, he ought to get a $98 pair of jeans to switch with them.  Really?  Do we look stupid?  Needless to say, we offered him the store credit of $19.99, which he did not take, and he left the store with the jeans.   Please.

Sports Moment of the Week – Not a lot of excitement going on in the world of sports this week.  The baseball trade deadline came and went with a flurry of trades and the Yankees getting more pieces and the Phillies getting another pitcher, and the X Games went on in Los Angeles, but with surprising little fanfare.  I was trying to pick something crazy from X but nothing really stood out.  I remember in years past jumping off the couch as people did tricks, but nothing grabbed me this year.  Also, NFL training camps kicked off, with lots of information about contracts and injuries and the like, but little in the way of actual news.  So I’m picking nothing as my sports moment of the week.  I choose, so I reserve the right to leave it blank.  Maybe next week.

Books and Movies of the Week – One movie and one book.  After a while, Kristen finally tracked down the movie Leap Year, an Amy Adams chick flick that was very predictable but entertaining.  And the book was The Mr. & Mrs. Happy Handbook: Everything I Know About Love and Marriage (with corrections by Mrs. Doocy) by Steve Doocy, which was a really entertaining and funny look at marriage and all of the things that it contains.  I definitely laughed out loud a few times and enjoyed the anecdotes Doocy shared.

Video of the Week – I’m assuming you’ve already seen this since about 5 people have asked me about it, but it is pretty funny.  Kristen made me get out of bed to watch it the other night.  And yes, we do live in Alabama…

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that we have started another home improvement project.  Kristen and I had talked about redoing our bathroom, albeit just paint, lights, and mirrors to start and I went ahead and started pulling the wallpaper off last Wednesday.  And unlike in the kitchen, the wallpaper actually came off.  Using a steamer I found in the closet I was able to get about 90% of the terrible wallpaper off and now I’ll start with the wall repair and other structural issues I’ll need to address before we can paint.  I’ll post some before pictures and keep you updated as things progress.

2. I think that the new lower price on the Amazon Kindle is definitely intriguing.  Starting this month there is a version of the eReader that is $139, which compared to previous prices is pretty good.  Still not sure if I am ready to make the plunge on it, or more importantly, make the plunge for Kristen since she reads about a book a day, but the lower price point has certainly brought it into the conversation.

3. I think that this summer has really flown by.  Certainly it has been busy (graduations, honeymoon, niece birth, etc), but to find that it is August 2nd is crazy.  School is right around the corner for the kiddos and football season kicks off soon (a religious experience here in AL…).  I’m most looking forward to the cooler weather.  J. Crew got a lot of fall clothing in last week, with cords and sweaters and the like and it made me pine for the days of sunny, sixty degree weather and changing leaves.

4. I think that we have no idea what day-to-day life is like for the men and women that are fighting the war in Afghanistan.  Last month was the deadliest month on record there, surpassing the previous month.  I watched a program on Green Berets on tour there last night and was amazed at how complex and frustrating their time there really is.  They are pulled in many different directions and have to deal with shifting loyalties and uncertain alliances.  Say what you will about strategies and the like, but I definitely have an incredible amount of respect for all of the men and women that have served our country in both Iraq and Afghanistan in the past 10 years.

5. I think there are few things as satisfying as finishing a job around the house and it actually looking good and turning out well.  In the last month I’ve managed to repaint (with considerable prep work) the front of the house and install a new mailbox (a bit more complicated than you think, but still fairly straightforward).  There are still about 3 other things in my hhead of what I’m hoping to get done before winter, but we’ll see how things progress.

So there you go.  All the news that’s fit to blog.  Enjoy the rest of your week and try to stay cool.  It’s hot out there.

Love and Sweatpants.

Leave a Reply

