The Week That Was

It’s the first day of summer, but if your weather is anything like the weather here in Alabama, it’s been summer for a good six weeks or more now.  It’s hot and hotter with some afternoon thunderstorms thrown in for good measure.  But you’re not here for weather reports…

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – Not much music in my life lately.  It’s mainly been Jack Johnson and Foo Fighters this week, for a myriad of reasons.  NPR in the car almost exclusively as well.

Customer Service Moment of the Week – I think that we might have actually gone a week without incident at the local coffeehouse, but we did get new light bulbs that have reduced the amount of ambient light in our store by like 50%.  Should be interesting to see how that works out.  Also, I’m working on possibly updating my Top 10 most annoying customer list.  We’ll see how that goes.

Sports Moment of the Week – This is the time of the year where the perfect storm of sports is occurring.  It happens every four years when the World Cup and Wimbledon go on at the same time.  My poor wife is already sick of sports and now this…but, my moment of the week is the U.S. fighting back for a tie against Slovenia after an atrocious first half.   I was at Starbucks “watching” the statistical feed on my laptop while trying to work and each goal was greeted with fist pumps and yells from behind the counter and quizzical looks by the patrons.  And then the worst call ever made by a terrible ref that cost the U.S. team the greatest comeback in World Cup history (no team had ever come from 2 goals down to win the game).  It could have been something special…instead we’re left wondering what could have been.  But, we’re still alive with a chance to move on if we win on Wednesday morning.  And you better believe I’ll be front and center yelling my head off for that one, and possibly blogging if no one is around to watch with me.

Books and Movies of the Week – Saturday night we watched a documentary called Surf Guru about the Paskowitz family, an 11 person family that lived in a camper in the 70’s and 80’s and drove around surfing and hanging out.  It was a gut-wrenching look at family dynamics and fatherhood and the weirdness that some people possess.  The father of the family is an eccentric mix of crazy and brilliant and has some strange and some right views on the world.  I’d recommend it but it’s a little rough to watch…so be forewarned.

Video of the Week –Ok, double whammy here.  These were both too good to pass up.

Hilarious Lego recreation of the England/US goals from last week.  Brilliant.

And this, this is just…well, watch it and see for yourself.

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that it’s just plain hot.  A quick look at the US weather map shows a lot of red and orange and even some pink in places.  I’m not sure what pink means, but it cannot be good and must be hot.  You know it is hot when I think that it is too hot to even think about going to the pool until 4pm after things cool off a bit.

2. I think that the traditional European soccer powers of France and England are both starting to fall apart at the seams.  They’ve both had terrible tournaments so far and are now both on the verge of player revolts.  France refused to train yesterday after the dismissal of one of their best players, and now England is talking about similar revolts due to the unhappiness of the players.  Strange stuff indeed.

3. I think my streak of undefeated jersey wearing is still intact, but only because I was not able to wear any last week.  But rest assured, come Wednesday morning we’ll be back in business with the U.S. jersey.

4. I think Nothing But Noodles has become our go-to restaurant.  They have terrific dishes that actually include things other than noodles, but their Asian, American, and Italian meals are all really good.  I even tried their salad the other day and it was fantastic.  Couple their good food with their close proximity to Yogurt Mountain and you’ve got a winner that everyone in our small family can enjoy.  If you’ve not made it out 280 to try some noodles, you should give it a shot.  Or look for one wherever you are reading this…

5. I think that there is a zero percent chance I’d be half the person that I am today without my father.  He’s my hero and role-model and as I grow older I find myself becoming more and more like him in many ways…to which my mother is probably cringing right now…but I think it’s a good thing.  He taught me to be honest, to love God, to enjoy life, to laugh at oneself and to be a well-rounded person.  And I definitely credit my love of all things Baseball, Dodgers, and California Berkeley to him, which have all served to enrich my life in many ways.  There’s not much more that I think that you can ask for from a father and I’m so grateful to God for giving me the one that I have.  So Happy Father’s Day Dad!

And that’s all I’ve got.  Have a wonderful week and enjoy each other.

Love and Sweatpants.

One thought on “The Week That Was

Leave a Reply

