The Week That Was

Today is Confederate Memorial Day.  I know, I had no idea either.  Apparently this is a big deal.  According to the Birmingham News website, “Each year, Alabama marks the holiday on the fourth Monday in April. It commemorates the surrender of Confederate General Joseph Johnston to Union General William Sherman on April 26, 1865.”  And lest you think that Alabama is alone in this not-so-subtle nod to Southern Heritage, “Florida, Georgia, Mississippi and Texas will also be marking the holiday. Other Southern states observe Confederate Memorial Day on other dates.”  And if you were wondering, yes, all state offices are closed today in honor of this “holiday”.  And you thought that you were coming here to be entertained…

So in honor of football, sweet tea, seersucker, muggy summers, tornadoes, mudflaps, Baptist churches, electronic bingo, and all other Southern things (although I think that about covers it…), I give you my thoughts and features of the week.

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – More new music from Dr. Dog, John Butler Trio, The Racontuers, The Avett Brothers, Lodger, and a few other miscellaneous bands.  Also getting heavy airplay have been Pinback, Built to Spill, Band of Horses, and Spoon.  It’s been an indie week for music in the Fielder Household.

Customer Service Moment of the Week – I had someone ask me my their Carmel Macchiatos sometimes taste different and yet when I tried to tell her the answer, she cut me off with a curt “No” and then told me that some other barista had told her that it had to do with the amount of beans that were in the espresso machine.  Which is not true.  I just found it humorous that she asked me a question she clearly thought that she knew the answer to, so unless she just wanted to try and argue with me, there really was no reason to ask the question.  Either way, pretty strange.

Sports Moment of the Week – You might have heard about the NFL draft this past weekend.  Cal showed pretty well with two picks in the first round.  But for me, the sports moment of the week was my wife and I and some of her co-workers attending a local minor league baseball game.  I mildly care that the team is terrible and that they lost by a lot.  It was baseball, it was live, it was with my wife, and I loved it.  We’ve decided we’re going to be fans of the Birmingham Barons this year and we are going to try and go a lot more games than last year (which was one, so we’ve tied already…).  Should be fun, or at least I think so.

Books and Movies of the Week – I’m not sure I read a book or watched a movie this week.  Might be the first time in a really long time.

Video of the Week – It’s bonus week here at Fielder’s Choice.  You’ve probably seen both of these, but I love the first one and Kristen likes the second, so be amazed and then have a laugh (or a cry depending on your view of the degradation of society…).

Ok, the video is not able to be embedded, so here’s the link – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oIr8-f2OWhs

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that I am really excited and a bit apprehensive to have one week and one day left in school.  I’m graduating in essentially the same place that I was before, which is not really knowing what I want to do with my life.  This does cause a little bit of consternation in me, but I have to say that I really do believe that God will work things out and show me what career path I need to be on.  And really, I have to say that my time at Beeson has been invaluable in so many ways.  I’ve gained a lot of knowledge, a lot of perspective, and a wife.  Pretty good if you ask me.

2. I think that tornado sirens might be one of the most unnerving sounds known to man.  If you have not ever experienced it, the sound is like an extra-loud and prolonged ambulance siren that rises and falls in volume, almost like it is rotating.   We had a few warnings in Birmingham on Saturday, but most of the inclement weather went north of us after rampaging through Mississippi.  Pretty scary pictures of total destruction coming from there.

3. I think the amount of pollen in the air right now is unreal.  Most people I’ve talked to have said that this not just the most pollen in recent memory, but as far as they are concerned, it is the most ever.  I also had someone tell me that while a normal count is 100, the count about 2 weeks ago was 2700.  Before the rain on Saturday we had to be pushing that number again.  Everything outdoors is coated yellow and everyone with allergies is having trouble breathing, seeing, thinking, and sleeping.  Not good at all.

4. I think that I am ready to travel overseas again.  A few friends have been recently and a group from church came back from Peru Saturday and shared about the trip on Sunday.  All of this has combined to make me want to visit Venezuela, Greece, Rome, London, Paris, or somewhere new…hopefully sometime soon.

5. I think that it is time for me to end this.  I don’t expect to get any other posting done this week, but I’ll be sure and let you know if I do.

So there you go.  Celebrate your heritage today and enjoy your week.  And don’t forget to tip your baristas.

Love and Sweatpants.

One thought on “The Week That Was

  1. k says:

    happy confederate memorial day! i love both of the videos; i just showed someone at work the first one on Friday.

Leave a Reply

