The Week That Was

Today is my one month anniversary and in some ways (all good) it seems like we’ve been married for longer than that, and in others it seems like it was just yesterday.  Either way, we love being married and have made the transition pretty smoothly.  If you missed the post this weekend, check out the directions for viewing the wedding pics online.  Onto the features…

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – I finally got back into the groove of getting some new music this past week.  Main artists included Cold War Kids (stellar EP titled Behave Yourself), Broken Bells (self-titled debut album), Dr. Dog (one of my favorites and their new album Shame, Shame), Vampire Weekend (album Contra), She & Him (excellent new album Vol. 2), and various songs from Spoon, Voxtrot, Ben Kweller, Phoenix, John Prine, Band of Horses, Pinback, Matthew Mayfield, The Heavy, and John Butler Trio.  I told you I’ve been busy…

Customer Service Moment of the Week – I have to say that since I’ve moved to a Starbucks without a drive-thru, my customer services moments have gone down exponentially.   I think that my new store serves a calmer sort of clientele, one that is more patient because they know that they have to get out of their car and wait for their coffee and their willing to do so.  I do have to say that save one night this weekend at a local BBQ place, I’ve been on a pretty good streak of receiving good customer service.  I wonder what it says when you are used to terrible service so much that good service stands out…

Sports Moment of the Week – The NHL and NBA playoffs got rolling this weekend and baseball season is in full swing.  Because I was in CA last weekend I was able to watch parts of two A’s games, which were great, especially considering that the A’s won both games.

Books and Movies of the Week – Kristen bought me a book about baseball cards called Mint Condition which was fantastic.   Best book I’ve read in a year.  If you or someone you love is as obsessed with baseball cards as I am, you owe it to them to read this book.  You’ll like it I promise.  And that’s all I have for this section, as I’ve been reading a lot of school stuff.

Video of the Week – This is the first that I’ve heard of this “sandwich”, but it looks disgusting.

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that Kristen and I got a good start on our small herb garden this weekend.  We went to the Birmingham Botanical Garden plant sale and got a few types of herbs (like parsley, mint, basil, cilantro [my personal favorite…], and some others…) along with a fern and a tomato plant.  Our yard does not get much sunlight but we’re hoping to make use of the little we get to make our little garden grow.  Hopefully it works.  I’ll keep you updated…

2. I think that it is tough to top hamburgers made on the grill on a perfect spring afternoon.  We were able to experience this yesterday afternoon and it was lovely.  The burgers were totally delicious thanks to Krirsten’s perfect mix of seasonings and the weather was great thanks to God being amazing as usual.  Add chips and a drink and a sister-in-law and some dogs and you have the recipe for a perfect Sunday afternoon meal.

3. I think that the volcano in Iceland is one of the most bizarre yet fascinating stories in our world in a while.  The fact that an entire continent can be closed off so effectively is unreal to me.  I also think that it is a pretty good reminder that as much as humans feel like we are in control of things here on earth, God has a way of making sure we remember who is really in charge.  I have at least one friend stuck in Paris (I don’t really feel that bad for her since it is Paris after all, and if you have to be stuck somewhere…) for the foreseeable future, plus the hundreds of thousands of other people that are there too.  Airports over in Europe must be a total mess right now.  Glad I don’t work there…

4. I think that I had a great time at the wedding of my cousin last weekend in California.  The weather was a little disagreeable but not to the point of disrupting and it was so good to see cousins that I had not seen in 10 years or so and to meet their significant others.  We really had a great time and the families of Franc and Natalie put on a great party that everyone really seemed to enjoy.  And it’s always good to be in Northern California.  I miss that place a lot…

5. I think that graduation is looming in two short weeks.  Thankfully I do not have too much on my plate before then, so it ought to be a good time.

And that’s all I’ve got.  Time to get to doing some of that pre-graduation work.   Thanks for reading and have a great week!

Love and Sweatpants.

Leave a Reply

