The Week That Was

I had the best of intentions to post yesterday, but as you can tell, I did not.  Maybe it was the cold that got to me.  And it is freezing cold here, literally.  The “feels like” temp this morning when I took the dog out was 9.  A bit chilly if you ask me, and I usually like cold weather.  Anyway, onto what you came for…

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – Nothing new to report here.  Hopefully will have something up and running by the end of the month though.  We’ll see how it all pans out.

Customer Service Moment of the Week – I did not work at all last week (A much needed week off with the family in FL), so I also have nothing to report here either.  But I will use this space to inform you that I have transferred to a new Starbucks so the stories may no be as good.  It is a little slower than the old one and has no drive-thru, so crazies are less frequent.  It is closer to my house and I think that the decreased stress level will be good for me, especially as we go into wedding planning mode in the few months.

Sports Moment of the Week – Cal ended their season on a definite low note by losing to Utah in the Poinsettia Bowl, and pretty much every other team that I’ve rooted for in the past few weeks has lost in their games as well.  But the games have been entertaining, so I cannot complain too loudly.  The craziest thing I heard in the past few weeks was about Washington Wizards player Gilbert Arenas pulling THREE guns on a fellow teammate in the locker room during an argument over a gambling debt.  He now says it was a joke (of course), but I have a feeling he’s going to be sitting out the rest of the season, maybe in a jail cell.

Books and Movies of the Week – I did not finish any books this week, but I got a few started so I’ll report back to you on the progress I make.  Plenty of movies though.  I watched Funny People, which I loved, despite the up and down emotions of it.  Saw Sherlock Holmes in the theaters, and really, really liked it, though I should not be surprised since I like all the actors and the director too.  Also, finally saw Stranger Than Fiction, which was totally fantastic.  Funny and compelling and really interesting as well.  Definitely recommend that one to any one.  And finally, we saw Up In The Air, which was a well-done, well-acted movie, up until the end.  I really thought that they could have done a lot more with the ending, whatever way they took it.  I guess that was how the book ended, but it just left you feeling like they ended it without finishing the story.  And not in a good way either.

Video of the Week – I think that the best part of this is the guy filming it.  The sound of “whoops” is the same in any language.

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that I had one of the best birthday/Christmases in recent memory.  Friends and family were abundant and generous with their presence and their presents.  All in all, a great December.

2. I think I’m surprised that more football coaches are not saddled with health issues, ala Urban Meyer.  They work high stress jobs and long hours and are under intense internal and external pressure.  I have no idea how the rest of the Meyer story will play out, but I have to say that I applaud him even considering walking away to save his health, his sanity, and his family life.

3. I think that taking down Christmas decorations might be the most anti-climactic thing there is.  It always goes much faster than putting them up, it leaves the house feeling bare, and it gives a feeling of finality to the end of the season.  Winter sets in with  a vengeance and it feels like a long time until Spring Break…

4. I think that there is something thrilling and enchanting about seeing nature in its element.  Case in point: My live near a place called Manatee Cove.  Until this past week it had been in name only, until we saw as many a 6 or 7 manatees there, warming themselves and playing in the water.  It was murky, so we could not really see how big they were, but their surfacings and occasional flips were definitely riveting.  Pretty cool.

5. I think that 2010 will be one of the busiest years in recent memory, with a marriage, a graduation, and a few other things on the schedule, but I think that it is going to be a great year.  I had no idea going in that 2009 would be so good, but I was pleasantly surprised and excited not only for the expected things of 2010, but also the unexpected.

So thanks for reading and later up because it is really cold out, wherever you are.  No sense in catching a cold.

Love and Sweatpants.

3 thoughts on “The Week That Was

  1. Heather says:

    I couldn’t agree more about taking down Christmas decorations…both Steven and I were commenting on how plain our house looks without them…sad to see the greatest holiday season of them all go away so quickly!!

  2. Ben J says:

    And here I was, thinking I was alone in liking Stranger than Fiction. Everyone else I know didn’t like it. Thanks for backing me up.

Leave a Reply

