The Single Guy Cooks – Spaghetti

Look, it’s not that I think you don’t know how to make spaghetti.  Anyone can open a bottle of Ragu and boil some noodles.  I know that.  I’m just afraid that is exactly what you are doing and it does not have to be that way.  So here is an easy recipe for spicing up your spaghetti and making it exponentially more flavorful and enjoyable.

You could make the sauce from scratch (like my Dad does…) but that is a lot of work and my suspicion is that if you are reading this blog for cooking hints, you are not one to make homemade spaghetti sauce.  So you can do what I do, and easily augment the already made sauce to go with the noodles and develop a meal fit for…well, maybe not a king, but a bachelor at least (Sidenote: I’m going to need a new title for this feature soon since The Married Guy Cooks does not have the same ring to it…give me your suggestions).

So we start with a bottle of whatever spaghetti sauce you prefer.  I like to use my local grocery store’s vegetable sauce since I’ll be adding meat to it and cutting up all the vegetables up takes some time.  I start with about a pound of ground meat, and out that in the skillet with a few cloves of crushed garlic to add some flavor.  Once the meat is fully browned, I add a can of tomato sauce and then add spices to that (I’ve found this is a great way to not only customize my sauce, but also to make it go a little further).  I usually use some combination of basil, oregano, parsley, garlic salt, onion powder, salt, pepper, and the like.  As with all my recipes, you can use whatever you find in the cupboard, and the easiest way to do this all at once is to grab some sort of Italian or Complete Seasoning.

Once I stir all of that into the meat, I add the spaghetti sauce and then do another sprinkling of spices.  This ensures that the spices don’t clump and that they spread out throughout the sauce (Note: be sure and use a large enough skillet as I’ve had to switch mid-cooking before and it can be a little messy.  This makes quite a bit so you’ll want to use your big pan).  I let it all simmer while I cook the noodles, being careful to stir it to reduce splatters.  Once the noodles are done (I’m partial to Angel Hair but you can use whatever you want), I put it on a plate and then put the sauce on it and top it with Parmesan and salt and pepper.  And that is it.  Quick, fast and easy.  And delicious.  Then, I take the leftovers and portion them out and freeze them for use later, which is even faster since all you do is cook the noodles, defrost the sauce in the microwave, and you have a great fast meal.  This recipe usually makes about 4 servings for me, so you can add or take away as needed.  Enjoy!

One thought on “The Single Guy Cooks – Spaghetti

Leave a Reply

