The End of a Long Grind

It has been entirely too long.  I’ve missed you, my loyal readers (the half-dozen of you regulars…), but rest assured that you are not the only facet of my life that has been ignored (as any of my friends or family can attest to).  But save a few small finals, my semester has finally come to an end and I can return to updating you about the banalities of my life on a weekly basis.

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – The iMac is out for the count.  The reason that gets mentioned here is because that is the computer that I use to get all my new music.  Some good new albums have come out that I’d like to take a listen to, but at this point, I’ve only streamed some stuff and given things mild listens.  However, a few weeks ago Kristen and I were at an outdoor festival and heard a guy playing there, who we really enjoyed.  His name is Jesse Payne and we got his CD and EP and have enjoyed it a lot.  He sounds a little like Fleet Foxes mixed with some acoustic stylings.

Customer Service Moment of the Week – In the span of 3 customers I had someone order a mocha slush (and tell me they specifically did not want the Frappuccino, even though that was what he was trying to order…), someone ask for an empty cup with a lid but did not care what size (I have no idea what they wanted to do with it), and then someone order a Cappuccino and specifically request espresso in it (even though it comes with it…it’s not a cappuccino without espresso people).  Ridiculous.  This week starts huge Christmas pushes at both J.Crew and Starbucks and the dreaded Black Friday shopping day.  It will be a long day, but I did it last year and I’ll do it again.

Sports Moment of the Week – Major moments this week.  Cal beat Stanfurd, even though they were huge underdogs and not expected to even compete.  It’s always great to beat your worst rival, and even better when they are on a tear and highly ranked.  Glorious.  In other sports, Jimmie Johnson won the NASCAR championship for the 4th year in a row.  I know it is NASCAR, but no one had ever done that before in the history of the sport and anytime someone does something for the first time ever, I’m impressed.  And last night, Real Salt Lake won the MLS championship (soccer) on penalty kicks, which I thoroughly enjoyed watching, even though I wanted the Galaxy to win.

Books and Movies of the Week – I’ve read a lot of books in the last few weeks, but none were better than A Grace Disguised by Jerry Sittser.  A gut-wrenchingly honest look at grief and loss, this book challenged me in many ways.  I’d highly recommend it for anyone.  I also watched the move Children of Men this past week, but not for leisure, but instead for a paper for school.  It was different, but I loved it and would definitely suggest you watch it and look at the religious overtones in it.

Video of the Week – I have no video this week.  My current computer runs too slow to make watching them easy and I did not have time to watch any last week anyway.  Check back next week.

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, but I love IKEA.  I usually go there with something in mind that I want to buy, but then as we wander around we always find other stuff that is really great.  And cheap too.  I’d suggest strongly that you go ahead and take a trip to your local store and check it out.

2. I think that one of the best things that happened this weekend was my best friend from seminary coming into town for the weekend.  From London.  For a day.  It was great to catch up with him and hear stories about life in the UK planting a church in a rough neighborhood north of London.

3. I think that not having any school work pressing down on me was as good a feeling this weekend as anything I’ve felt in a while.  I watched football and soccer, I hung out with friends and family, I wasted some time doing nothing, I watched a documentary I wanted to see, and I generally just enjoyed myself.  I did next to nothing and it was everything I thought it could be and more.

4. I think I have an official iMac problem.  My iMac has a bad logic board, which according to the Mac people, will cost $680 to fix.  Not really in the budget, or for that price, worth fixing.  So I’m not sure what I’ll do at this point, but if anyone knows of any good deals on iMac’s, let me know.

5. I think I am looking forward to Thanksgiving later this week.  I’m always up for good food and the time off of school is much needed and will be well received.  And then, we are into Christmas season, which I find amazingly hard to believe.  This year has flown by, as I am sure anyone will agree, but it has been a good year so far.  I’m excited to see how it ends.

So there we go.  After a long hiatus, I am back, and should be posting with pretty good regularity for the foreseeable future.  Thanks for reading and don’t forget to give thanks for all the blessings you enjoy.

Love and Sweatpants.

3 thoughts on “The End of a Long Grind

  1. The Kooch says:

    As a new barista I’ve enjoyed the story’s you ahve to share same. I also find random thing that people ask for. The strangest one happened Saturday. This little Indian woman came in and asked for 2 Grande Pumpkin Spice Latte’s with half the espresso, soy, milk two packs, of honey and whip cream. As well she said it really slowly. it has taken the cake… so Far..

Leave a Reply

