The Week That Was

TWTW3Another week gone.  Hard to believe that we are almost halfway through with October already.  But time moves on whether we are ready for it or not.  Anyway, that is my deep thought for today.  But you came here for frivolity and sarcasm, not philosophy.  So here we go.

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – Same song, second verse.  Little bit quieter, a little bit worse.  iMac is still down and out.  So I’m managing with the same songs from last week.  I did download Foo Fighters song Wheels and an old Everclear song just to spice things up.  But that is it.  However, Kristen and I are headed to Kings of Leon on Thursday, so that ought to be fun.  Check back next week and I’ll let you know how it was.

Customer Service Moment of the Week – This one actually comes courtesy of J.Crew this week.  I worked Saturday morning and a lady brought in her little chihuahua dog.  Yes, into the store.  In her arms.  And it was ill.  It growled at one employee as he walked by and then snapped and barked at another as he was trying to help the lady.  Totally ridiculous.  It’s one thing to bring a dog into the store, which I have enough issues with, but to bring one that will bark and snap at people is just uncalled for.   Starbucks was relatively quiet this week, which means that next week will be nuts…

Sports Moment of the Week – Cal did not lose this week, which was great!  They also did not play, which tempered the celebrations somewhat, but I’ll take what I can get at this point.  But the biggest news in the world of sports was the U.S. Soccer team qualifying for the World Cup next year.  You probably did not see the game or hear about it, namely because it was only shown on closed-circuit television, which went out of style in the 80’s.  Seriously.  And since there was no real draw for it in Birmingham, no sports bars or anything were showing it and therefore, no TV coverage.  But even if no one saw it, it still happened!  Also noteworthy was the fact that the Dodgers swept the Cardinals to move onto the National League Championship Series for the second straight year.  Here’s hoping they fare a little better this year…

Books and Movies of the Week – No non-school books this week, but I did manage to catch the movie My Life in Ruins.  It was predictable but enjoyable and definitely not nearly as bad as I thought that it could have been.  A good compromise for any guy that is not into chick flicks (I’m raising my hand right now…)

Video of the Week – No political statement intended here by any means.  Either way.  I just think that this is hilarious on two levels. 1.  The surface.  Pretty funny.  2. The fact that this lady disliked him enough to do this.  The level and time of training must have been unreal.  Anyway, just watch.

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that I am fighting the worst battle ever against fleas.  No, I don’t have them, but my dog does.  I’ve tried everything but I think that the main problem is that there are just too many outside.  I walked outside for a minute the other day and came in and picked one off my leg.  Astounding.  I’m ready for the cooler weather to chase them away.

2. I think that there are few things better than knowing that all of your clothes are clean.  I’m not sure why I am such a big fan of having my laundry all done (maybe because I wait so long) but it always feels so great when it is done.  Even better if I do not have to do it…

3. I think that I was right about my Hebrew grade.  Not to boast or anything, but whatever you all did (prayers, sacrifices, happy thoughts, whatever…) worked.  I got a high A and was quite excited about it.  So thanks.  I’ll let you know when the next one is…

4. I think that this car looks amazing to me.  Leave it to Porsche to make a really, really cool four-door sedan.  Probably a prohibitively expensive really cool four-door sedan, but awesome nonetheless.

5. I think that if you have Monday off in honor of Christopher Colombus, you should thank your lucky stars and go discover something in tribute.  It does not have to be big.  You could discover that you still hate Big Macs.  Or that you love frozen yogurt.  Either way, use your day to do some discovery.  And if you are like me and have to work or go to school, rediscover your disdain for uncelebrated holidays.

So that’s all I have for you this week.  Thanks for reading and have a great week.

Love and Sweatpants.

Leave a Reply

