The Week That Was

TWTW3I assume that you noticed that I had a busy week last week because I did not post anything.  And your noticing would be right.  Papers, quizzes, work, and life all ensured that I would not be blogging.  But I survived and now I am here to tell you all about it.

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – Tons of stuff to tell you about here.  For starters, a band that I know you’ve heard of, The Beatles.  We got their new CD’s in at Starbucks and we’ve been listening to them almost non-stop for two weeks now.  I find it hard to believe I’d ever forgotten how great the Beatles were, but I’m here to tell you that their catalog, from Help! to Hey Jude is unmatched.  But you knew that.  Other recent additions/favorites include Muse (new album is fantastic), Belle & Sebastian (the song If She Wants Me), Pete Yorn & Scarlett Johansson (Their new album Break Up is amazing), Gomez (the song Little Pieces), Monsters of Folk (M.Ward, Conor Obrest, and Jim James from My Morning Jacket as a supertrio with the new self-titled album),  Blue Mountain (the song Blue Canoe), and the new Foo Fighters song Wheels.  I organize my musical playlists by seasons and the Fall 2009 one is shaping up to be pretty epic.

Customer Service Moment of the Week – Last week I messed with two friends in the drive-thru.  The first was my friend Justin whom I told we had no White Mocha.  I was surly and mean about it and made him pull around anyway, while offering little in the way of explanation.  Pretty funny.  Then my co-worker from J.Crew, Katie, came through and was on her cell phone.  I told her I refused to take her order until she got off the phone, then lectured her about how rude and unconscionable it was to talk on the phone in the drive-thru.  She panicked for a moment before realizing it was me and then laughed and laughed.  The lesson?  We have cameras in our drive-thru and I will mess with you.  The other experience I had was when I was working the bar and a lady asked me for some cream for her coffee.  I gave her the carafe and even though it obviously felt full, she told me it was empty.  Problem?  She had no opened it.  How hard is it to see that there is a top on the container that needs to be opened for the cream to come out?  I am continually amazed by ignorance.

Sports Moment of the Week – One of the worst sports weekends in recent memory for me.  Cal got annihilated by Oregon and the 49ers lost at the last minute.  Both brutal losses.  But the Dodgers clinched their playoff birth and the A’s continue to play extremely well down the stretch, even with nothing to play for.  So there is hope for next year. 

Books and Movies of the Week – I actually read two books and watched two movies this week (non-school related).  I read two John Grisham books, first Playing for Pizza, which was a fantastic book and I highly recommend, and then The Appeal, which was a legal/political book, just like all his other ones.  I was disappointed with both movies, as they came highly recommended and I just did not like them.  The first, There Will Be Blood, seemed to meander on and on with no real discernible point to it.  Or maybe I missed it.  Either way, I did not like it.  The second, Burn After Reading, was better, and had its moments, but it just did not strike my fancy.

Video of the Week – I was as upset as you can be after the Cal loss, but I’m pretty sure that I’ve never taken a football loss this hard…and I love the announcers.

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that the rain has finally stopped and cooler weather has arrived along with the sunshine.  About time…I was getting a little stir crazy.  But I am definitely excited for fall and the chance to wear sweaters again.

2. I think people need to lower their voices in restaurants.  At dinner tonight Kristen and I overheard an entire life story about divorce and jobs and custody and weirdness and everything else.  The people were so loud we could not even have our own conversation.  Now I am certainly one whose voice can be loud sometimes, but Kristen always alerts me and I modulate accordingly.  These people?  They did not have someone that cared enough to tell them…

3. I think that the 19-pound newborn story (yes, you read that right) out of Indonesia is astounding.  Twice the size of a normal baby.  That is ridiculous.  Check out the picture here if you missed it…

4. I think a recent poll that named Wal-Mart as the company that most symbolizes America is a little disheartening.  I mean, I shop there just like everyone else and I find that it is indeed a great leveler.  People from all walks of life go there.  But the thought of a store the represents our rampant consumerism and greed is a little sad to me.  But I guess that is what America is all about.  

5. I think grooming my dog myself is harder on me than on him.  Trying not to cut him or make him look goofy is pretty stressful, but the money and time I’m saving when I do it is worth it.  We got through it and he even got a bath, so now he is clean and cut.  And even looks pretty good I think…

So that’s it.  I have a Hebrew test on Friday morning, so if you are so inclined, pray for me, send me happy thoughts and positive vibes, and grant me best wishes and good luck.  I need it all…

Love and Sweatpants.

2 thoughts on “The Week That Was

  1. Not in the least. Although, they are my second favorite Pac-10 team, but that is pretty far below number one. Like light years. And I may have been born in Oregon, but I developed in California.

Leave a Reply

