The Week That Was

TWTW3Indeed, the regular weekly column returns once again.  It was my first non-kitchen/non-vacation week in quite a long time and I must admit that it was pretty nice to live a little more “normally”.  And I even got to cook and blog some.  A good week all around.  But enough about all that, onto the stuff.

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – I’ve recently downloaded a bunch of stuff from Daytrotter where they record special versions of artists songs and then post the free (and legal!) downloads for your enjoyment.  Artists include Death Cab for Cutie, Sam Roberts, Greg Laswell, Copeland, Dr. Dog, and many, many others.  Check it out for sure.  Also, new Mute Math comes out tomorrow, so I am quite excited about that.  Probably a review coming later this week so be sure and check back.

Customer Service Moment of the Week – While working the drive-thru last Saturday night a woman and her daughter came through and the woman asked me if I would kindly call her husband and tell him they were running late.  She had either forgotten her cell phone or it was dead so she needed my assistance.  Always one for a good story, I agreed and got her name, his name, and his number.  I called him and told him who I was and why I was calling and then he laughed and thanked me.  He didn’t sound surprised at all.  I didn’t ask her why, if she was running late, why she was stopping in for a latte, since I figured that was not really my place…after all, I’m a barista, not a marriage counselor.

Sports Moment of the Week – Usain Bolt ran the fastest 100 meter time in history on Sunday.  9.58 seconds.  First sub 9.6 ever.  Seriously, it was totally ridiculous.  Tyson Gay ran a 9.71 and settled for second place, even though it was the 3rd fastest time ever.  Something tells me these two (Bolt and Gay) will keep dueling until someone runs a sub 9.4.  Oh, and Tiger lost too.  Big time, to a no-name player.  Gives all the Tiger-haters (I’m not one of them) some ammunition and joy for the next few weeks.  Interesting to see what he does from here.  I’m betting he lights the golf world on fire.  He does not strike me as someone that likes to lose.

Books and Movies of the Week – Nothing to write home about here.  I’m rereading Rainbow Six by Tom Clancy and watched the awkward bromance comedy I Love You Man.  It was funny and awkward, about what I thought it would be.

Video of the Week – Couple of thoughts about this one.  First, what kid (I’m guessing he is 11 or so) decides to do this?  I bet he is a handful.  Second, while his performance is good, the funniest part of the whole thing is watching the people behind him.  Hilarious.  Stick with it, it’s pretty funny.

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that, as crazy as it sounds, I miss the days of obsessively watching and worrying about hurricanes.  I’m not sure if it was the anticipated paid time off work, the hypnotic spin of the radar images, the constant speculation, or the feast that my roommates and I would always have (We’d stock up on the meat the night before since there was a sale on it as the grocery store knew it was going to go bad when the power went out…we avoided it by just grilling everything we had and eating/giving it out to neighbors and passerbys…).  But the impending rain of Claudette here in Alabama has me all nostalgic for my hurricane days in South Florida.  Maye I’ll share some of my best stories later this week.

2. I think that it is time for fall.  Cooler weather and football seem really appealing right now.  School? Not so much, but I’ll take it too.  I am really tired of the humidity though, that is for sure.

3. I think that 9 years in between dentist visits was a little too long.  But I went and was told that my teeth looked quite good for almost a decade between cleanings.  No cavities or problems of any sort, but it was a little embarrassing telling the lady it had been 9 years…

4. I think that the U.S. soccer loss at Mexico is one of the most disappointing things I’ve seen in a while.  They played tight and did not deserve to win, but when your star player has Swine Flu (yes, Landon Donovan has swine flu, but got it in the U.S., not Mexico…), then it is not too surprising.  Disappointing though.

5. I think that you ought to check out Kristen’s continued blog on the kitchen…it is amazing to look back and see how much stuff we really did.

Thanks for reading and watch for any hurricanes or tropical depressions that might be headed your way…

Love and Sweatpants.

2 thoughts on “The Week That Was

  1. k says:

    so, FRA = future rockstars of america. Did you see that smirk? Kid is totally going to be a rockstar. Good find.

Leave a Reply

