The Single Guy Cooks(with help from his girlfriend): Fish Tacos

TSGCSo my idea for The Single Guy Cooks was to cook something once a week, take pictures, share the recipe, and so on and so forth.  The only problem is that I got to busy working on the kitchen where the actual cooking would take place that I was relegated to fast food and eating out.

However, since the kitchen project is now finished, I’ll return to my original plan of trying to offer you new and exciting recipes and ideas that I’ve tried and found to be wonderful.

Tonight’s recipe taught me a great lesson from the very start – Don’t be afraid to collaborate.  It’s fine to be single and cook, but like most things, cooking is a lot easier and more fun with a partner.  The plan that I had was to cook something Mexican, while Kristen had the great idea for fish tacos.  So off we went to the grocery store for ingredients for fish tacos and homemade salsa.

We end up spending about $25 for all the ingredients, which is a little more than we would have liked, but I now have salsa for a week at least in my fridge.  For the salsa we got tomatoes, cilantro, a green pepper, a red pepper, a jalepeño pepper, a red onion,PICT0004 some garlic, and some limes.  I chopped everything up (would have been faster and easier with a salsa maker or something of the like, but I chopped it all the old-fashioned way, i.e. by hand) and squeezed the lime juice (I also learned that it is easier and better to roll a lime on the counter before cutting and squeezing it) while also adding salt and pepper.  It came out a little hotter than I would have liked, but a night in the fridge and some more tomato and lime should temper it some.

Kristen went to work on the fish and the sauce we planned to add to it, having come up with the idea to mix sour cream, cilantro, lime juice, and some salt together to make a creamy sauce to add to the fish and the avocado in the tortilla.  We used Mahi Mahi and just got two frozen filets which we defrosted in the microwave.  PICT0001Kristen used lime juice, minced garlic, and salt to season the fish before putting it on the grill for about 10 minutes.  The key with cooking fish on the grill (I’ve found at least…) is to take it off when it is a uniformly lighter shade than when you first put it on.  The fish was tender and amazingly seasoned.  The sauce went through a couple of incarnations before finally getting it right (we needed more salt in ours) so be sure and taste it and then season accordingly.

We sliced up the fish and the avocado and then warmed the tortillas (soft taco sized flour ones) in the oven.  Once everything as ready we combined the ingredients and indulged our senses in a delicious dinner meal.

Total prep time was just under and hour, but that could easily cut down with thawed fish, and prepped sauce.  Cook time was really only about 10-15 minutes, which will vary based on how hot your grill is and how big your fish is.  You can definitely add some other things to your tacos like lettuce, slaw, tomatoes, or any other ingredients you find appealing.  Either way though, I think you’ll be happy with the result.  I know I was.  And I learned another valuable lesson.  Don’t be afraid to experiment.  We had an idea in our heads, talked it through and tasted as we went.  And it came out deliciously.  No risk, no reward.

PICT0002

Tortillas, avocado, sour cream, and salt and pepper.

Everything comes together...

Everything comes together...

Hungry yet?

Hungry yet?

One thought on “The Single Guy Cooks(with help from his girlfriend): Fish Tacos

  1. mom says:

    It looks and sounds wonderful–I have always hesitated some when it came to eating fish tacos–seemed like fish and tacos didn’t go together somehow, but you have me convinced to give it a try and collaborate with my partner who always has good ideas when it comes to food.

Leave a Reply

