The Weeks That Were

TWTW3The last time you heard from me I was preparing to head out west to the homeland, namely California.  Kristen and I spent 8 glorious days relaxing, sightseeing, catching up with friends and family and just plain enjoying ourselves.  It was much needed and much enjoyed.  I know you missed my updates…well, maybe not, but nevertheless, I’m back.

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – The Kings of Leon song Use Somebody was on the every hour playlist for radio stations in California.  Seriously.  It was a great song until I heard it 8 times a day.  And then I heard another radio station “introduce” their listeners to Kings of Leon.  Seriously?  I’ve been listening to them for about 5 years now…really people, get with it.  I’ve also been enjoying Grand National, Albert Hammond Jr, and The Sea and Cake.

Customer Service Moment of the Week – I’ve been off for a week and a half, so no good stories there, but Sunday night at the grocery store I had two ladies that work there ask me why I did not get the penny item, which was frozen pizza (I must really look and shop like a bachelor…).  I had no idea and then the manager on duty asked me which one I wanted and went and got it for me.  Just another reason why Publix is the greatest supermarket ever.

Sports Moment of the Week – Rickey Henderson day was everything I thought it would be and more.  My hands were bruised from clapping and my voice was raw, but it was amazing.  I’d be lying if I said I did not tear up a little bit…maybe more than once.  Rickey was and still is my favorite player of all time and gave me countless wonderful memories in my childhood.  To be there to applaud his efforts and say thank you in the smallest way was wonderful.

Books and Movies of the Week – I rewatched Lucky Number Slevin the other night and really enjoyed it.  I also saw Gone Baby Gone and thought it was fantastic.  And then I saw The Hangover, which for a bachelor party movie set in Vegas, was not at all as raunchy as I feared it might be.  And it was really, really funny.  Certainly comes with a caveat, but it was good.  I also read a book called Emergency by Neil Strauss.  It was not at all what I thought it would be but it was a great and highly entertaining read.  I totally loved it.

Video of the Week – Neither one of these were the game we were at, but I’d say, having stood in line with A’s fans for an hour and a half that day, it’s about par for the course for Oakland fans.  We are a rowdy bunch…

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that the weather in California could not have been any better.  Sunny and clear with no humidity and temps in the 80’s during the day and in the 50’s at night.  Seriously glorious.  And people wonder why everyone wants to live in California.

2. I think that one of the strangest parts of the whole trip was driving around in my old neighborhood and seeing my old house and elementary school.  Everything was about 1/3 the size that I remembered it being.  I guess that’s part of growing up…still weird though.

3. I think it’s tough to beat eating Clam Chowder in a sourdough bread bowl on Fisherman’s Wharf.  Unless you’re eating a potato and cheese sandwich at the Ferry Building.  Or a homemade sandwich on fresh sourdough with Sonoma Jack Cheese and salami at your grandparents home.  Yeah, we ate like kings.

4. I think that I cannot believe that summer is almost over.  Classes start two weeks from Tuesday and then I hit the ground running.  I accomplished the major task I wanted to this summer (the kitchen…), but there were so many other books I wanted to read and projects I wanted to do…looks like they’ll wait until Christmas.

5. I think that if you are interested in seeing some pictures from our trip you should check out the web album Kristen made and see all the fun that we had.

Thanks for reading and be sure and check back later this week for a few specific stories from California.

Love and Sweatpants.

One thought on “The Weeks That Were

Leave a Reply

