The Week That Was

TWTW2Ok, here is logo number two for The Week That Was.  I know you were dying to see it. But now that I’ve had some sleep and some coffee after an extraordinarily long day yesterday, I’ll tell you about my week last week.

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – Wilco and Augustana were my two main staples last week.  Wilco’s new album comes out a week from today and you know that I am very excited about that.  Other than that, I’ve been pretty boring on the music front.  I’ll work on stepping it up a little this week.

Customer Service Moment of the Week – In one night we had 3 people walk through the drive-thru.  Not only is this annoying, it is also dangerous, both for them and us.  Yet when we tell them so, they get annoyed and mad at us.  Look, I’ve seen how little people pay attention to the CARS that are in the drive-thru.  What makes you think someone will see a person standing there?  Just trust me and drive your car through the drive-thru.

Sports Moment of the Week – Wimbledon kicked off yesterday and that makes for a great fortnight.  But the highlight of the week was easily accomplished on Sunday afternoon but the U.S. Soccer team when they beat Egypt 3-0 at the same time that Brazil stomped Italy 3-0.  This is significant in that it allowed the U.S. to advance to the semifinals of the tournament, when they had no business doing so.  And it showed some signs of life from the U.S. side, something that could not really be said for their previous two efforts.  Spain is up next tomorrow and here’s hoping for a positive result.

Books and Movies of the Week – Finally finished off both David Livingstone and Paul Shirley (well, their books, not them.  Africa took care of Livingstone and Shirley is still alive and kicking) I also read Henri Nouwen’s short tome In the Name of Jesus, which was a quick and fantastic read.  I also started a book called The Survivor’s Club, which is a fascinating study of people who survive things (you think?) and why they do and why they don’t.  Pretty interesting for sure.  And the only movie I caught was the last half of Wedding Crashers, which simply served to remind me how hilarious Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn are.  Classic.

Video of the Week – Yeah, I think I’ll take the stairs.

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that getting sick in the summer is a terrible idea.  I barely survived last week with congestion, a cough, fever, and general ill feeling.  Also, the regimen of Nyquil, dayquil, Sudafed, Tylenol and Advil make you loopy.  Just ask anyone that interacted with me last week.  I was totally out of it.  But I survived and am feeling much better this week.

2. I think that due to my sickness, I did not do much of anything that I wanted to which included: blogging, cooking for the Single Man Cooking feature, working on the kitchen, cleaning the house, and various other errands and things.  I hope to catch up this week.

3. I think that I have no idea who Jon and Kate are and I’ve never watched their show, but I think that it is sad that they’ve allowed their personal life to play out in the media.  My friend Leslie Ann has a great take on it here. It’s one thing to put yourself though something, but your kids?  What did they do to deserve this?

4. I think that I read one of the most unbelieveable things I’ve ever read yesterday.  Roy Williams, an NFL wide receiever and former star from the University of Texas has never been on a weight lifting program in his life.  Read about it here and see that I’ve shamelessly ripped off Peter King, but seriously, never?  Ever?  Unreal.

5. I think that it has been hotter than I can ever remember.  Maybe my memory is faulty or I’m just getting old, but a week straight of heat indices (is that right?  Plural of index?) over 105 is just out of control.  It’s only June people.  July and August will be miserable if this keeps up.  Mark it down.  I might just start sleeping in the pool.

Ok, that’s all I’ve got and I need to go start some demolition work on my kitchen.  Stay cool (literally.  It is really hot) and enjoy your friends and family.  They are truly valuable.

Love and Sweatpants.

One thought on “The Week That Was

  1. Thanks for the shoutout, Sam. I agree that it’s been entirely too hot over the past week or so. So far, I’ve only managed to kill two baskets of flowers, but the rest are sure to go if we don’t get some relief soon.

Leave a Reply

