The Week That Was

TWTWI decided I needed a logo for The Week That Was, so I made three. I’ll try a new one out each week and then maybe we’ll have a vote or something as to which one you like best.  We’ll see how it goes.  Anyway, onto the stuff…

Music That I Am Listening To and Enjoying – I’ve definitely been wearing out Zach Williams’ new album and by all accounts it was a great release show on Tuesday night in NYC.  Kudos to him and his band for a fantastic record.  I also pre-ordered Wilco’s newest offering that releases at the end of this month and got the single immediately, which was nice.

Customer Service Moment of the Week – Pretty mild as far as things go, but I did get told that Pike Place Roast Coffee was undrinkable and that this man could not believe we brewed that stuff.  I nearly told him that I was not the one making that decision but that he could continue to berate me if it made him feel better, but instead I help my tongue.  But if my head ever explodes at Starbucks, you’ll know why…

Sports Moment of the Week – The Pittsburgh Penguins finished off their Stanley Cup win in a tense game 7, while the Lakers finished off the Magic with a blowout win.  Baseball had interleague play going on, but the best performance of the week was probably not seen by most, but Spanish soccer player Fernando Torres scored a hat trick (3 goals) in 17 minutes in the Confederations Cup.  Simply ridiculous, even against an overmatched New Zealand side.

Books and Movies of the Week – Still reading Paul Shirley and David Livingstone.  But I did recieve some new books I ordered, so I am excited about getting to those.  I did watch some movies this week though, as the weather was quite stormy and not conducive to time by the pool.  So I watched Step Into Liquid, one of the greatest surfing movies ever made.  Even if you do not surf (me) or like surfing, this is a fascinating look at the sport itself and provides an interesting take on life.  I also watched Get Shorty, which was actually the frist time I’d seen it.  Typically Elmore Leonard fare, with witty dialouge (and rough language) and tidy plot twists that tie everything together in unexpected ways.  Pretty funny too.

Video of the Week – I really don’t want to know how long this took to make, but the guy that made it is absolutely brilliant.  And he picked a great song to accompany it.  Simply amazing.

5 Things I Think I Think

1. I think that I am just a little jealous that my girlfriend Kristen got to go to Bonnaroo last weekend.  She got to see Wilco, Ben Harper, Phish, Bruce Springsteen, and many, many others.  I stayed home and worked and watched a lot of TV…indeed, it is summer time.  But I am really glad that she got to go and that she had a great time.

2. I think that I am going to add a new weekly feature to the blog called Single Man Cooking.  I am not trained in cooking nor do I have any particular skill at it, but I enjoy it.  So the plan is to make some of my best and most perfected recipes, take some pictures and give you the reader an idea of how to do it.  They’ll be simple but tasty things that anyone can make with minimal effort and small increments of time.  And if it takes off and you like it, maybe I’ll spin it off into its’ own blog…we’ll give it a test run and see.

3. I think that I’m not a fan of violent storms knocking huge branches off my neighbor’s tree, but I am a fan of breaking out the chainsaw for the first time in like 4 years and the sense of accomplishment that comes in seeing the large branches that were cluttering our front yards now stacked all nicely in 3-4 foot lengths next to the trash cans.  Any day you can use a chainsaw is a good day by me.

4. I think that this travel case thingy is one of the more interesting things I’ve seen in a while.  It looks pretty practical, but I wonder about functionality and ease of use.  If anyone decides to give it a go, be sure and let me know.

5. I think that elections in foreign countries are sadly predictable.  One side claims victory, the other claims shenanigans, then riots ensue.  Say what you will about the U.S.’s electoral system (far from perfect), but we even once had an election where there was no declared winner for 2 months and aside from a few protests, nothing burned (I know because I was there in the center of it in Palm Beach County) and no one died.  But overseas (Iran is the latest example, but this happens all over), once someone is declared the winner, all bets are off.  Crazy to me.

That’s all for now, but I hope that you have a great week and enjoy the summer!

Love and Sweatpants.

One thought on “The Week That Was

  1. Ken Mahanes says:

    Wow! The video is awesome. Must have taken nearly all day to put it together, but enormously creative!

Leave a Reply

